世界女青年會
世協女青創立於對耶穌基督的信心之上。於1894年成立至今,世協女青一直提倡公義、和平、人性尊嚴、自由及對環境保護,並且不斷提升女性在社會上的地位。世協女青創辦的目的亦是為了發展婦女的領導才能及結集不同女性的能力為全人類去實踐世協女青的理念。
基督教女青年會運動源起於1855年(歐洲工業革命時代)的倫敦。創辦人為金耐德夫人和羅拔女士。前者為遠離家庭到工廠謀生或隨南丁格爾到戰塲服務的青年女子提供棲身之所,後者集合婦女禱告和研讀聖經。之後這個祈禱會事工和宿舍工作合併成為了基督教女青年會(Young Women's Christian Association,簡稱YWCA)。由於許多國家跟隨英國設立了YWCA,至1894年成立了世界基督教女青年會,會址設於瑞士日內瓦。第一次世協女青的全球會議於1898年倫敦舉行,總共有326名來自17個不同國家代表出席,為日後鞏固不同總部的全球性合作有著莫大的關係。現時在一百二十五個國家或地區都設有基督教女青年會。
世協女青培育了許多女性領袖以幫助女性於社會所面對的不公平現象。每年超過25萬世協女青的會員於22,000個不同的社區為當地女性進行協助。此運動的參加者全屬自願性質,包含了不同信仰、背景及文化的女性。
透過不同的服務及活動,世協女青極力提倡女性於社會、經濟、文化、宗教、政治權力上的地位,其重點主要針對性教育、生殖健康及權利、愛滋病病毒、女性暴力、人權、和平、公義及經濟發展。
走進世界女青年會:http://www.worldywca.org/

版權所有© 2017 香港基督教女青年會
Powered By SmarkGlobal

The World Young Women’s Christian Association

The World YWCA was founded on faith in Jesus Christ. Since its foundation in 1894, it advocates for peace, justice, human dignity, freedom and care of the environment, and has been at the forefront of raising the status of women. The purpose of the World YWCA is to develop the leadership and collective power of women around the world to achieve its belief and principle for all people.

The movement from which the World YWCA originated began in London in 1855 (the period of European Industrial Revolution). The founders are Lady Mary Jane Kinnaird and Emma Robarts. The former provided shelters for young women who left home for work in factories or followed Florence Nightingale to serve at the Crimean War; the latter assembled women to pray and study the Bible. The prayer ministry and hostel service were amalgamated later to become the Young Women’s Christian Association (YWCA). Since many countries followed England to set up YWCA, the World YWCA was established in 1894 and based in Geneva, Switzerland. The First World’s YWCA Conference was held in 1898 in London with 326 representatives from 17 different countries. The conference played an important role in consolidating the collaboration amongst different headquarters on a global scale. YWCA is currently present in over 125 countries or regions.

The World YWCA has nurtured many women leaders to help women handle social inequities. Every year, over 250 thousands members of the World YWCA provide assistance for local women in 22,000 different communities. All participants in this campaign are volunteers and women with different religious and cultural backgrounds.

Through different services and activities, the World YWCA strongly advocates for women’s status in society, economy, culture, religion and politics with a particular emphasis on education, reproductive health and rights, HIV, violence against women, human rights, peace, justice and economic development.

Into the World YWCA:  http://www.worldywca.org/
COPYRIGHT© 2012 HKYWCA ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.
Powered By SmarkGlobal