Skip to main content
  • A
  • A
  • A

總幹事報告

 

楊建霞女士

深化女青運動  讓婦女發聲

踏入創會百周年的里程碑,本會回顧女青百年發展,不忘前人立會初衷,並展望將來,以 2020-2025「策略發展行動方案」,為未來五年發展訂下目標和方向。

 

本會一直秉持「婦女為本」的初心,積極推動兩性平等及婦女充權、領導和承傳,並推展基督教事工,栽培會員和義工,於本會多元化的社會服務回應基督教、婦女、會員/義工之重要元素,實踐女青運動。於2021年3月,本會董事、委員、年青領袖和同工以線上形式參與第65屆聯合國婦女地位委員會會議及退修營,就不同國際婦女議題共同研習和交流,促進跨代領導。在本會Glocal Y的策劃下,百周年國際青年論壇以「21世紀裡的男女平等—針對女性的網絡暴力」為主題,邀得日本、韓國和世界女青年會的講者作分享。來自亞太地區、非洲及美洲等不同國家的參加者,以男女平等角度及國際視野分享和討論,並作出倡議。

 

為促進全會不同服務部門掌握女青運動意義,本年度於同工層面加強灌注女青運動種子,包括舉辦各項女青運動培訓和交流活動,推動女青運動與各服務的融合。此外,新同工啟導活動經優化後,以互動方式讓同工認識女青運動精神。我們亦以「持定信念,傳使命,迎向前」為全會福音工作主題,邀請牧者及學者於分享會和祈禱會中分享訊息,加強信仰栽培和氣氛,實踐基督教信仰。

服務創新及優化  回應社會需要

嬰幼兒及家庭服務

本會一直以優勢為本的介入模式,協助家庭發掘其正能量,促進嬰幼兒健康成長,並支援新一代父母及嬰幼兒家庭在社會環境、家庭結構及功能轉變下面對的挑戰。本會欣喜成功申辦天水圍資助獨立幼兒中心,服務區內育有零至三歲嬰幼兒的家庭,為有需要的家庭提供支援,並有助釋放婦女勞動力及促進婦女社區參與。同時,本會教育心理學家及女青悅兒成長服務於天水圍區幼稚園開展第一層支援服務試驗計劃,為懷疑有特殊教育需要的幼兒、其家長或照顧者及教師提供培訓,並協助他們及早辨識及跟進有需要個案。

 

特殊教育需要兒童及青年服務

本會持續為有特殊教育需要的兒童及青年提供跨專業和多元化的「家庭為本」復康支援服務,協助他們應對成長階段的不同轉變,提升其生活及學習適應能力,改善家長的情緒健康和家庭關係,促進大眾的接納和共融。因應疫情下學校停課,家長面對孩子「在家學習」的新常態,本會致力支援有特殊教育需要兒童及其家庭,包括先後推行「疫風同行計劃」及「快快樂樂兒家行計劃」,提供訓練教材、指導短片及線上功課輔導,協助家長為孩子進行家居訓練和學習,並給予親職指導及情緒支援。同時,透過不同青年就業項目如「Project Shine@ISS計劃」及「展翅青見計劃」等,提升有特殊教育需要青少年的就業能力,為他們作好職前準備。為配合服務需要,本會整合多年服務經驗,運用創意及科技,持續研發專業SEN訓練教材,並於本年度開設「Y SENse教材網店」銷售教材及由同工製作教學短片,支援老師、社工及有需要的家庭,與業界分享經驗。

 

青年參與及發展

隨著青年人對社會事務的關注不斷提高,本會積極在社會角色、發展機遇及社會連繫的範疇上開拓創新和專業服務,提升青年人的身份認同,建構有利他們發展的賦能環境,推動青年人有意義的社區參與。疫情下,本會帶領青年人參與抗疫工作,為低收入基層家庭丶獨居長者及雙老家庭等送上防疫用品及關懷,提供支援。本會亦舉辦「毅非凡網上音樂劇」及「跨世代網上音樂會」等活動,促進青年人與社會不同年齡持份者的互動,推動跨代共融。此外,本會獲教育局委託推行全港首個「職業專才教育:中學諮詢服務先導計劃」,為參與中學的老師及家長提供職業專才相關之專業培訓和諮詢,培養學生在職涯規劃上的多元化視野,掌握未來所需工作技能。

 

長者及基層醫療健康服務

為栽培長者身、心、社、靈的豐盛生命,啟發他們潛能,傳承經驗,締造自主人生,本會透過「創活人生Plan & Go」一系列課程和活動,讓50+人士了解自身興趣及能力,訂立退休人生目標,並將學習所得結合自身經驗,服務社區。本會亦成功獲資助開設新服務單位,推展「發現幸福旅程—我們相扶到老」計劃,協助夫婦適應退休後的婚姻生活,強化家庭支援系統及抗逆力,為未來互相照顧的護老路奠定基礎。此外,本會於北區成立「地區康健站」,推展基層健康工作,提升自我健康管理能力,服務包括疾病預防教育、健康風險基本評估及慢性疾病管理,期望此計劃能與區內現有服務產生協同效應,讓本會能更策略性及全面地支援長者及各家庭成員的需要。

推動科技應用  促進機構發展

現今科技發展一日千里,為促進機構能力建設,本會將從優化網絡設備、大數據應用及提升同工科技應用能力三個範疇推動科技應用。過去一年,鑑於疫情影響,「在家工作」和「流動辦公室」已成新常態。因此,本會已提升資訊科技基礎架構的安全性及遠端工作的能力,讓同工在辦公室以外,仍能安全地從遠端存取機構各項資訊、系統及服務,為應對未來突發事件作充分準備。

 

有見社會服務需求持續增加,機構的行政效能亦須相應提升和應變。承蒙賽馬會慈善信託基金撥款,本會成功爭取籌建「企業資源管理系統」(ERP),整合財務、人力資源、採購等行政流程,進一步優化本會之行政管理及機構能力建設,促進資源的有效運用,期望此項目在業界能起先導作用,展示社會服務機構如何善用資訊科技,配合機構發展及優化資源運用,為服務發展創造更多空間。本會亦獲資助為「到校學前康復服務」(OPRS) 建設跨機構協作平台,並正進行籌備工作。隨著科技發展,我們相信在服務模式、社會創新、管理程序等都面對更多可能性及發展空間,本會將從硬件和軟件方面積極裝備,與時並進。

 

經歷一個世紀,本會已發展為多元化的社會服務機構,以基督的關愛精神,持續為社會有需要社群開拓各項適切服務。本人期待在新一個「策略發展行動方案」的引領下,全會能同心邁向發展的新一章,並期盼各界人士繼續給予支持,讓本會在未來穩步向前,實踐使命。

Skip to main content
  • A
  • A
  • A

Chief Executive's Report

 

Ms. Yvonne Yeung

Deepen YWCA Movement and speak out for women

Stepping into the centenary milestone, we have set goals and directions for the next five years according to the “Bold Steps” Strategic Plan 2020-2025 while keeping the aspirations of our founders in mind.

 

As a women-oriented organization, the Association has always been actively promoting gender equality and women’s empowerment, leadership and inheritance. We also enhance Christian ministry and cultivate our members and volunteers to put YWCA Movement into action by responding to the important elements of Christianity, women and members/volunteers in our diversified social services. In March 2021, our Board Directors, Committee Members, young leaders and staff participated in the online meeting and retreat camp of the 65th UN Commission on the Status of Women. By jointly studying different global women's issues, inter-generational leadership was fostered. Besides, under the planning of Glocal Y, the Centenary International Youth Forum themed on “Gender Equality in the 21st Century – Cyber Violence against Women” was organized, where speakers from Japan, Korea and World YWCA shared their valuable opinions. Participants from different countries in the Asia-Pacific region, Africa, and the Americas exchanged ideas and made initiatives from the angle of gender equality and an international perspective.

 

Extra effort was placed this year in nurturing the YWCA Movement at staff level to help our service departments grasp its meaning. For example, various training and exchange programs were organized to enhance integration of the YWCA Movement into our services. The optimization of staff orientation program has also helped our new staff understand the spirit of the YWCA Movement in an interactive way. Adopting the theme of “Hold on to the Faith, Pass on the Mission and Move Forward” in our gospel work, we invited pastors and scholars to give testimonies in sharing sessions and prayer meetings in order to cultivate the atmosphere of Christian faith.

Service innovation and enhancement to address social needs

Infant, children and family service

The Association always strives to help families discover their positive energy and promote the healthy growth of infants and young children with the strength-based intervention model. We also support new parents and their families in overcoming challenges brought by changing social environment, family structure and functions. We are delighted to have succeeded in bidding to operate an aided standalone child care centre in Tin Shui Wai, serving families with children aged 0 to 3. It also helps unleash women’s labour force and encourage their social participation. Meanwhile, our educational psychologists and Y Seeds Wellness Service launched a pilot project of first-tier support services in kindergartens in Tin Shui Wai, providing training services to children suspected of having special educational needs (SEN), their parents or carers, and teachers for timely identification and intervention.

 

Service for SEN children and youth

The Association has continued to provide multi-disciplinary and diversified “family-based” rehabilitation support services for SEN children and youth, to facilitate their adjustment in different developmental stages, improve parents’ emotional health and family relationships, and encourage public acceptance and social inclusion. In response to class suspension and the new normal of “learning at home” under the pandemic, the Association actively supported the needs of SEN children and their families, including offering training materials, instructional videos, and online homework guidance to assist parents in performing home training and learning, as well as providing them with parenting and emotional support. Through different youth employment projects, we also enhanced the employability of SEN youth and prepared them for employment. Besides, the Association has developed professional SEN training materials based on years of service experience. This year, we have launched the “Y SENse Online Store”, where teaching materials accompanied by instructional videos produced by our staff are available, hoping to support teachers, social workers and families in need while sharing experiences with the sector.

 

Youth engagement and development

As young people become increasingly aware of social affairs, the Association is actively exploring innovative and professional services in the realms of social roles, development opportunities and social connections to promote their meaningful social participation. During the epidemic, the Association led young people to extend care and deliver anti-epidemic supplies to low-income grassroots families, elderly singletons and doubletons. To promote inter-generational harmony, activities such as “Life is Beautiful Online Musical” and “Cross-Generation Online Concert” were organized to encourage interaction between young people and stakeholders of different age groups in society. Meanwhile, entrusted by the Education Bureau, the Association launched the External Consultancy Services of Vocational and Professional Education and Training (VPET) Pilot Scheme for secondary schools in Hong Kong to provide teachers and parents of participating schools with professional training and consultation, with the aim of cultivating students’ diversified perspectives in career planning and helping them master the job skills needed. 

 

Elderly and primary healthcare service

The Association endeavors to promote the physical, psychological, social and spiritual wellbeing of the elderly and nurture their abundant lives. We encourage them to unleash their potentials, pass on experience and live an autonomous life. Through the “Plan & Go” Program, we helped individuals aged 50 or above understand their own interests and abilities, set retirement goals, and serve the community. Meanwhile, the Association was funded to establish a new service unit to promote the adjustment to retirement among married couples and strengthen their family support and resilience. To enhance primary healthcare and self-health management capabilities, the North District Health Centre (DHC) Express was set up. Services include disease prevention education, basic health risk assessment and chronic disease management. We hope that with our existing services in the district, the synergy effect will allow the Association to support the needs of the elderly and their family members in a more strategic and comprehensive manner.

Promote the application of technology

In order to foster the organizational capacity building amid the advancement of technology, the Association promotes the application of technology in three areas, namely optimization of network and equipment, application of big data, and enhancement of staff’s ability in the application of information technology (IT). In view of the impact of the epidemic over the past year, “working from home” and “mobile office” have become the new normal. Hence, the Association has improved the security of IT infrastructure and its capability for supporting remote working so that our staff can safely access the organization’s data, systems and services remotely and get fully prepared for possible contingencies in future. 

 

In view of the growing demands for social services, the administrative efficiency of the Association needs to be improved and adapted accordingly. Funded by the Hong Kong Jockey Club Charities Trust, the Association has launched the Enterprise Resources Planning (ERP) System to integrate administrative processes and further enhance the administrative management and capacity building by promoting effective use of resources. We hope that this project can play a pioneering role in the sector by demonstrating how social service organizations facilitate service development and optimize the use of resources by taking advantage of technology. The Association has also been funded to establish a cross-agency collaborative platform for “On-site Pre-school Rehabilitation Services” (OPRS), and the preparation is in progress. With the advancement of technology, we believe that there are more possibilities and room for service development, social innovation, management procedures, etc. We will actively equip ourselves to keep pace with the times.

 

After a century of development, the Association has become a diversified social service organization serving people in need with love and care of Christ. The Association is going to start a new chapter under the “Bold Steps” Strategic Plan. I hope that people from all walks of life will continue to support us to fulfill our mission in the future.