Skip to main content
  • A
  • A
  • A

香港基督教女青年會自2000年開始推行機構改革及現代化,旨在貫徹機構管治,提升工作效率。作為負責任的社會服務機構,女青年會一直致力推動機構管治,制訂清晰的目標、建立高效率的管理以及決策架構,為機構提供策略性導向,以期達到預期的果效和有效監察服務表現。面對挑戰,勇於改變,與時並進是現今社會服務機構的成功因素,本會在進行機構改革及現代化的這十年間,並不敢鬆懈,為優化管理不斷進行研究及檢討,2010年制定了全新的《機構管治手冊》,又舉辦研討會及培訓,讓董事、管理層以至各級員工均掌握機構管治的理念,使之持續地有效推展。

 

董事選舉制度

董事選舉制度始於1938年,由選舉會員以投票方式選舉董事。現時,董事任期為四年一任,每兩年進行一次董事選舉,改選約二份一董事,再由董事會選舉會長及副會長,並由會長委任司庫、書記及各委員會主席,組織委員會,策劃會務。

12/2020-12/2021 名譽會長、名譽董事及董事名單

 

名譽會長:

鄭容麗女士
黃文璿太平紳士, SBS, BBS, MBE 
胡秀霞太平紳士, MH

名譽董事:

孫蓮娜女士 
吳夢珍博士, JP
禤秀萍女士 
朱清蓮女士
羅章文女士 
簡瓊珍女士
梅以菁博士 
黃麗娟女士
邵嘉儀女士 
楊邦鏵博士
陳素薇女士
梁慕清女士

會長:

杜淑婉女士

第一副會長:

王絳彥女士

第二副會長:

呂倩文女士

第三副會長:

江慧芝女士

第四副會長:

許玉銘女士

義務書記:

梁萃明女士

義務司庫:

李淑英女士

董事:

余悅群博士    
樓瑋群博士
陳秀芬女士    
何潔雲博士
李綺華女士    
陳詠敏女士
李諾詩女士    
周慧賢女士
宋婉真女士    
黃慧貞博士
林琼女士    
馬鳳鈿女士

特聘董事:

呂蕙文女士
謝瑞賢女士
金港生女士
曹妙如女士
潘秀琼女士
謝淑賢女士

YWCA organisation chart as at 1 September, 2021

由2020年起,本會將積極推展2020-2025「策略發展行動方案」,帶領機構在轉變的社會環境中持續發展,實踐使命。

 

1. 機構文化/女青價值與人才培育

機構要發展出高穩定性和專業的服務團隊,良好的機構文化是重要的基石。本會將致力彰顯基督教信仰及承傳本會遠象、使命和核心價值,並重視人才培育,加強推動女青文化承傳,在工作中實踐和體現機構的信念和目標。

 

2. 服務創新及優化

本會將在以下五個服務範疇積極推動服務創新和優化,回應社會需要。

2.1 嬰幼兒及家庭服務

我們深信家庭是每個孩子的學習基地。重視家庭健康,能促進家庭成員之間的關係互通,彼此明白、體諒和接納,從而讓個人健康成長。因此本會以跨專業的角度,檢視、策劃和發展嬰幼兒及家庭服務,讓幼兒健康成長,促進其家庭健康。

2.2 特殊教育需要兒童及青年服務

本會特殊教育需要服務以幼兒和兒童及其家庭為服務重點,獲得豐碩成果。在2020-2025「策略發展行動方案」中,本會將聚焦發展由兒童期到青少年階段的特殊教育需要個人及家庭服務,持續以「家庭為本」的服務模式,提供多元化的康復訓練,建立家庭同行網絡及推行手足支援服務。同時,本會將積極為他們的父母和照顧者提供喘息支援服務,促進其家庭健康。

2.3青年參與及發展

近年來,青年人對社會事務的關注不斷提高,更期望在社會發展過程中扮演更重要的角色。有見及此,本會將致力協助青年人在社會角色、發展機會及社會連繫三個範疇上,提供更多創新服務與專業實踐,並透過生涯規劃、能力培育及發展、促進青年人主導的參與及社區共創等工作策略,提升青年人的身份認同,建構出有利青年人發展的賦能環境,從而推動青年人有意義的社區參與。

2.4 長者服務 

面對香港高齡人口急促增長,社會對長者服務需求日增,本會致力培育長者身、心、社、靈的豐盛生命,並以「促進長者身心健康」、「啓發潛能,提升生活質素」及「傳承經驗,締造自主人生」為2020至2025年長者服務之核心目標,除積極建立「退休適應及理想規劃」的服務模式,藉此推展成為範式轉移的工具,以供業界及有需要的服務使用者參考及應用外,亦積極建立互動的退休人士網絡,鼓勵金齡人士運用自己的技能,締造及追求退休後的新夢想。

2.5 女青運動

「女青運動」既是本會創會初心,也是服務特色與核心使命,透過基督教、婦女、會員/義工這些重要元素,在本會多元化的社會服務裡作出相應規劃,承傳使命。本會將深化婦女充權、拓展義工/會員培育及彰顯基督教價值,透過推動「兩性平等及婦女充權」、「婦女領導與傳承」、「義工及會員培育」及「基督教事工」展現女青獨特性,實現「生命的栽培」。 

 

3. 服務創新及研發

本會致力透過科學及系統化的方法來收集及分析數據,作為制訂機構發展方向及服務發展的循證基礎,體現實證為本的信念,達致服務推展與時並進之果效,並透過參考文獻、問卷調查或焦點訪談,探討及研究社會現象,以了解社區或服務使用者的需要及評估服務成效,達致優化及發展創新服務的目標。本會將以前瞻的角度,投放適切的資源,建立創新的文化,優化及開展服務,更會透過培訓,持續裝備同工有關實證為本的專業知識,並運用設計思維開展創新服務。

 

4. 科技應用

為配合未來之服務發展需要,提升機構能力及效益,本會於2020-2025策略發展行動方案中作出規劃,以三個不同範疇推行科技應用 – 網絡及設備提升、大數據於服務方面的應用和提升同工科技應用的技巧及傳承,期望透過整理及分析不同系統、服務範疇及持份者的數據,使服務更貼心及更有效地幫助普羅大眾,並提升機構在面對不同突發情況下的抗逆能力。

 

5. 品牌服務建立

植根香港百年,女青一直以「婦女為本」,推出各項「栽培生命」的社會服務,並站在社會最前線,持續拓展創新服務,回應不同社群需要,發展日益多元化。為加深公眾對女青品牌和服務的了解,建立鮮明的品牌服務,本會將成立跨部門的核心領導小組,檢視各服務部門有潛質發展的品牌服務,積極為其制定具體策略及行動指標,並協調各部門在婦女工作發展上的角色及定位,以助建立女青以婦女為本、具前瞻性及專業服務的形象,使女青文化與信念深入民心。

1. 前言

1.1 香港基督教女青年會(「本機構」)承諾致力維持良好之企業管治,強調問責精神、廉潔、及優質服務,從而使本機構能夠照顧持份者之需要,令他們對香港基督教女青年會建立信心及讓本機構履行其社會責任。 本機構期望各級僱員以誠信、公正和誠實地履行職務。

1.2 為貫徹履行以上承諾,本機構已制定一套舉報政策,並鼓勵本機構僱員及與本機構有往來者(如服務使用者、服務供應商、承辦商等)對本機構內任何舞弊或不當行為作出舉報。 

 

2. 宗旨

2.1. 本政策旨在就有關任何舞弊或不當行為的真實舉報(並不屬於投訴或申訴範圍以內需要處理之事宜),為僱員和其他持份者提供有信心和無懼報復的舉報途徑及指引,以確保本機構能夠不斷改善及持續提供優質服務。

2.2. 防止一些不當行為或違規情況的出現,有助於保護本機構的聲譽。

 

3. 定義

3.1. 「舉報」是指僱員對本機構內任何舞弊或不當行為表達關注而作出如實、恰當的舉報。「舉報者」是指根據本政策提出其關注之人士 。

3.2. 當公眾人事及與本機構有往來的持份者,懷疑本機構內有任何僱員有不當行為、違規、不道德、舞弊或貪污行為,亦可透過本政策所提供的舉報途徑,提出其關注。

 

4. 一般政策及涵蓋的範圍

4.1. 本政策旨在涵蓋本機構內所有僱員(包括編制和兼職)、公眾人士或其他持份者,提供一個保密的舉報渠道,協助舉報者在發現本機構內出現有懷疑舞弊或違規等行為時,向本機構直接反映。

4.2. 舉報事項可以包括但不限於以下供參考的例子:

  • 未能遵守法例或監管要求
  • 刑事罪行,涉嫌違法或違例(如盜竊、舞弊、貪污、虛報索償)
  • 與會計及財務事項、內部監控有關的不當行為或欺詐
  • 不當或其他不道德行為
  • 種族歧視或性騷擾
  • 危害或威脅個人健康及安全的行為
  • 處理個別合約事宜或對待個別求職者有所偏袒
  • 蓄意隱瞞以上種種行為

4.3. 若本機構所收到的關注事項不涉及本舉報政策的範圍,所收的關注事項將根據本機構的投訴政策或其他合適程序進行處理。

4.4. 上述舞弊或違規情況以外,任何有關個人糾紛、財務或營運決策的問題、與提供服務有關的投訴、或屬於本機構的投訴政策涵蓋的事項,一概交由相關部門(如人力資源部或服務單位)根據本機構的投訴政策處理。

4.5. 本機構將審慎處理有關舉報,並會公平、恰當地處理舉報者提出的關注。

 

5. 保密及對舉報者的保障

5.1. 本機構將致力確保所有收到的舉報得到保密處理。在未得到舉報者的同意前,本機構絕不會透露舉報者的身份。 但在某些情況下,舉報者或需被邀請前來機構提供證據以便配合有關調查。為確保不妨礙調查工作,舉報者亦須就其已作出舉報的事實予以保密。

5.2. 在某些情況下,本機構可能就法律上有義務而須披露舉報者的身份,例如因調查而導致的法律訴訟。 倘有關情況發生,本機構將盡力通知舉報者其身份有可能會被披露,並審慎處理有關舉報。

5.3. 在若干情況下,本機構可能須將舉報事項轉介至有關當局而未必能夠預先通知或諮詢舉報者。

5.4. 本機構不會容忍任何企圖騷擾或傷害舉報者的行為,包括因舉報而產生的無形壓力; 並會採取適當行動,確保所有作出如實、恰當舉報之舉報者受到保障。

 

6. 匿名舉報 

6.1. 以匿名形式提出之舉報一般不予受理。因此,本機構強烈建議舉報不應以匿名形式提出。 

 

7. 失實舉報 

7.1. 本政策確保所有作出如實、恰當舉報之舉報者,不會遭受任何形式報復的危險。

7.2. 若舉報者因個別用心而惡意作出失實舉報,本機構保留向任何相關人士(包括舉報者)採取適當行動的權利,以追討因失實舉報所造成的任何損失或破壞,僱員更可能面對紀律處分。 

 

8. 舉報渠道及形式

8.1. 舉報者可以書面形式向香港基督教女青年會審核委員會主席、或總幹事、或內部審核部主管任何一位提出舉報。 舉報者應把舉報資料及有關證明文件(在可能的情况下),直接發送致以下只供上述三位人士閱覽的電郵地址,或將資料放進密封信封郵寄至以下地址直接向上述任何一位人事提交舉報,並於信封面清楚標明「只供收件人拆閱」字樣。

電郵地址:whistleblowing@ywca.org.hk

香港基督教女青年會的總辦事處地址
香港中環麥當勞道1號
香港基督教女青年會
審核委員會主席 或 總幹事 或 內部審核部主管收啓

8.2. 所有收到的舉報,不論最終是否按本舉報政策處理,均會歸納在案並定期滙報給本機構的審核委員會。

8.3. 所有涉及並按本舉報政策處理的指控,將會定期上報本機構的審核委員會,直至審核委員會滿意有關事項的調查結果。

 

9. 調查程序

9.1. 當本機構的總幹事與內部審核部主管收到來自舉報者提出的資料,在與本機構的審核委員會主席商議後,將首先評估舉報事項的內容是否涉及本舉報政策內之範圍。

9.2. 調查之形式及所需時間將視乎舉報事項之性質及個別情況而定。在適當的情況下所提出之舉報可能: 

  • 由處理舉報的專案小組作內部調查; 
  • 轉介至香港警務處、香港廉政公署或其他相關監管或執法機構;
  • 轉介至香港基督教女青年會合適的委員會;
  • 轉介至外聘核數師; 

內部調查

9.3. 若所舉報事項涉及本政策範圍內的不當行為或違規情況,將由審核委員會主席、總幹事、內部審核部主管,以及兩個董事會成員(在適用情況下)組成的專案小組共同評估舉報事項及負責調查工作。 董事會主席將視乎個別情況和該項調查所需的專業知識,任命合適的董事會成員參與專案小組的工作。

9.4. 如有需要,專案小組亦有權邀請任何管理層及同工參與專案小組的調查工作。

9.5. 專案小組會即時對所有舉報展開調查。 於調查完成後,一份包括調查結果及建議行動的詳細報告將在不公開舉報者身份的情況下被編製,並呈交董事會,以便對所需採取的行動作出最終決定。

外部調查

9.6. 若有充份證據顯示舉報事件可能涉及刑事罪行、貪污或違反法律和監管要求,有關事宜將被轉介至有關的執法機構(如香港警務處、香港廉政公署)或外界機構(如外聘核數師)進行調查。倘有關情況發生,專案小組須事先取得董事會主席的授權,方可將事件轉介至有關的外界機構。 事件一旦轉介至有關執法機構或外界機構進行調查,在外部調查得出結果前,本機構將不會再就事件採取進一步行動。

9.7. 在合理、可行情況下,專案小組將回覆舉報者有關舉報事項:

  • 回覆舉報者已經收到有關的舉報事項;
  • 在合適的情況下,通知舉報者調查之最終結果

 

10. 記錄存檔及銷毀安排

10.1. 所有按照本政策第8條所舉報的舞弊及違規情況的相關資料及記錄須完整保存及存檔; 有關記錄的存檔年期由調查完成日起計算存檔七年(或根據其他相關法規所訂的期限)。

10.2. 所有不需要的資料及記錄必須按照相關的銷毀指引進行銷毀。

 

11. 政策詮釋及批核

11.1 董事會負責本政策的詮釋。 本政策任何修訂都必須經董事會批核。

11.2 審核委員會負責就本政策進行全面檢討。

11.3 本政策在獲得董事會批核的日期起實施。

 

12. 語言 

12.1. 舉報政策以中文及英文制定。如中文本與英文本存在任何歧異,概以英文本為準。

 

下載舉報表格範本

第一版/生效日期:2016年7月21日

Skip to main content
  • A
  • A
  • A

Since 2000, the Hong Kong Young Women’s Christian Association has started to promote institutional reform and modernisation, aiming to implement corporate governance and enhance work efficiency. As a responsible social service organisation, YWCA has been dedicated to promoting corporate governance, formulating clear guidelines and establishing highly-efficient management and decision-making framework so that we can follow a strategic direction to achieve the expected outcome and efficient supervision services. Being willing to envisage challenges and having the courage to change and to keep abreast of the times are the keys to success for the present social service organisations. The Association, in the decade of institutional reform and modernisation, has never slacked off but only proceeded to the investigation and review of optimising our management. In 2010, we have compiled our new Handbook of Corporate Governance and held conferences and training for the directors, the management team and other staff so that they can grasp the concepts of corporate governance for a sustainable and efficient development of the Association.

 

Election of the Board of Directors

The election system of the Board of Directors has been adopted since 1938. Voting Members cast their vote to elect the Directors and the term of office of the elected Directors is four years. The election takes place every two years, with about half of the seats on the Board being re-elected. The Directors then elect the President and Vice-presidents of the Board whereas the Honorary Treasurer and Honorary Secretary of the Board as well as the Chairperson of the committees are appointed by the President. Committees are formed to plan for the development of the Association. 

12/2020-12/2021 Honorary Presidents, Honorary Directors and Directors List 

 

Honorary Presidents: 

Mrs. Grace Tsao
Mrs. Mona Leong, SBS, BBS, MBE, JP
Mrs. Patricia S.H. Ling, MH, JP

Honorary Directors:

Mrs. Lena Liu 
Dr. Agnes Ng, JP
Mrs. S.P. Huen Lee, May 
Mrs. Wong Chu Ching Leen
Mrs. Helen Koo 
Mrs. Leung Kan King Chun
Dr. Jennie Lee 
Ms. Wong Lai Kuen, Hannah
Mrs. Emily Cheng 
Dr. Hung Yeung Pong Wah
Mrs. Lau Chan So May, Lucy
Ms. Leung Mo Ching

President: 

Ms. To Sook Yuen, Helena

First Vice-President:

Ms. Wong Chiang Yen, May

Second Vice-President:

Ms. Lui San Man, Simmy

Third Vice-President:

Ms. Kong Wai Chi, Jenny

Fourth Vice-President:

Ms. Hsu Yu Ming, Hanna

Honorary Secretary:

Ms. Leung Sui Ming, Olivia

Honorary Treasurer:

Ms. Lee Shuk Ying, Helen

Directors:

Dr. Yu Yuet Kwan, Patricia    
Dr. Lou Weiqun, Vivian
Ms. Chan Sau Fan, Julie    
Dr. Ho Kit Wan
Ms. Eva Lee    
Ms. Chan Wing Mun, Grace
Ms. Lee Lok Sze    
Ms. Chau Wai Yin, Ada
Ms. Sung Yuen Chan, Jeannette    
Dr. Wong Wai Ching, Angela
Ms. Lam King, Ivy    
Ms. Ma Fung Tin, Fanny

Co-opted Directors:

Ms. Lui Wai Man, Nancy    
Ms. Tse Sui Yin, Sally
Ms. King Kong Sang, Mimi
Ms. Tso Miu Yue, Agnes    
Ms. Pun Sau King, Flora
Ms. Tse Shuk In

YWCA organisation chart as at September 1, 2021

Entered into 2020, the Association actively implements the 2020-2025 “Bold Steps” Strategic Plan to steer the Association’s continuous development and pursuit of its mission amid changing social circumstances. 

 

1. Organisational Culture/ YWCA Values and Talent Development

Good organisational culture is the cornerstone of a stable and professional service team. The Association will strive to manifest Christian faith and inherit its vision, mission and core values. We will also stress on talent development and propel the inheriting of YWCA culture to enable staff to fulfill the organisational beliefs and goals at work. 

 

2. Service Innovation and Enhancement

The Association will actively promote service innovation and enhancement in the following service areas to respond to the needs of society. 

2.1 Infant, Children and Family Service

We firmly believe that family is the learning base for every child. By promoting family wellness, mutual understanding and acceptance among family members can be fostered and individuals can grow up healthily. In view of this, we aim to examine, plan and develop infant, children and family service from a cross-disciplinary perspective so that children can grow up healthily and family wellness will be enhanced.

2.2 Service for Children and Adolescents with Special Educational Needs (SEN)

Our SEN services mainly serve infants, children and their families, and have achieved fruitful results. In the 2020-2025 “Bold Steps” Strategic Plan, we shall focus on the development of services for SEN children and adolescents and their families. The Association will continue to adopt a family-oriented service model to support SEN families. In addition to providing diversified rehabilitation training and establishing a network of family peers, we will promote sibling support services to offer emotional care for siblings of SEN children and adolescents, and provide respite support services for their parents and carers to enhance their family wellness. 

2.3 Youth Engagement and Development

Teenagers have been paying more attention to social affairs in recent years, and expecting to play a more important role in the process of social development. In view of this, the Association will strive to provide innovative services and professional practices to the youth in three areas, namely social role, development opportunities and social connections. Besides, through various initiatives such as career planning, capability development, youth-led participation and communal co-creation, identity recognition of youngsters and an enabling environment beneficial to youth development could be strengthened and constructed, which could further promote a more meaningful community participation by youth.

2.4 Elderly Service 

With the rapid growth of aging population in Hong Kong, the society’s demand for elderly services is increasing. The Association is committed to nurturing the abundant life of the elderly from the physical, psychological, social and spiritual aspects. “Promoting the health and wellness of the elderly”, “inspiring their potential and improving their quality of life" and "inheriting experience and creating an independent life" are the core goals for the elderly service from 2020 to 2025. A service model of retirement adjustment and ideal planning will be established and developed as a tool for paradigm shift for the reference and application by the sector and service users. The Association will also promote an interactive network of retirees and encourage golden agers to use their skills to create and pursue new dreams after retirement. 

2.5 YWCA Movement

YWCA Movement is not only the original aspiration of the Association, but also its service characteristic and core mission. Through important elements including Christianity, women, and members/volunteers, we have implemented corresponding planning and inherited our mission in our diversified social services. We will strive to deepen women empowerment, enhance volunteers/members nurturing and demonstrate the value of Christianity. By promoting gender equality and women empowerment, women leadership and inheritance, volunteers and members nurturing and Christianity ministry, the uniqueness of the Association will be manifested and “life enhancement” will be realised.

 

3. Service Innovation, Research and Development

The Association is committed to collecting and analysing data through scientific and systematic methods to generate meaningful information for formulating strategic development direction and service development, embodying beliefs in evidence-based practice and providing up-to-date services. Besides, our colleagues explore and study social phenomena through literature review, survey studies and focus group interviews, in order to understand the needs of community, evaluate the effectiveness of services and develop innovative services. The Association will invest resources to establish innovative culture and develop services from a visionary perspective. Through training, we will continue to equip our staff with evidence-based knowledge and use design thinking to launch innovative services.

 

4. Application of Technology

In order to meet the needs of future service development and improve agency capabilities and effectiveness, the Association will promote technology application in three different areas – network and equipment upgrading, application of big data in service, and strengthening staff’s skill-set and inheritance of technology application. Through organising and analysing the data of different systems, service categories and stakeholders, it is hoped that thoughtful and effective service will be developed and the resilience of the Association in the face of unexpected emergency situations will be enhanced.

 

5. Brand Service Establishment

Rooted in Hong Kong for a hundred years, Hong Kong YWCA has always been "women-oriented" and launched various social services that fulfill the purpose of "life enhancement". It remains at the forefront of society and continues to develop various innovative services in response to the needs of different communities. For the public to better grasp the Association’s brand and services and to establish our distinctive brand services, the Association will set up a cross-departmental core group to identify the brand service of each service department with development potential and develop specific strategies and action indicators for establishing our brand services. We will also coordinate the roles and positioning of various departments in the development of women’s work in order to build a women-oriented, forward-looking and professional service image and promote the YWCA culture and beliefs.

1. Introduction

1.1 Hong Kong Young Women’s Christian Association (“HKYWCA”) is committed to maintaining good corporate governance, emphasizing accountability and high standards of service delivery, operation and probity which enable our stakeholders to have trust and faith in the organization to take care of their needs and to fulfill its social responsibility. Employees at all levels are expected to conduct themselves with integrity, impartiality and honesty. 

1.2 In line with the above commitment, HKYWCA has devised a whistleblowing policy to encourage its employees and other parties who deal with the organization (e.g. service users, service providers, contractors etc.) to report any malpractice or wrongdoing within the organization.

 

2. Purpose

2.1 To provide the employees and other stakeholders with reporting channels and guidance on raising genuine concerns about any malpractice or wrongdoing (which is not being dealt with as a complaint or grievance), in confidence and without fear of reprisals, to ensure that HKYWCA continues to improve its services and provide best value.

2.2 To act as a deterrent to malpractice and help protecting the reputation of HKYWCA.

 

3. Definition

3.1 “Whistleblowing” refers to a situation where an employee decides to raise a genuine concern about malpractice or wrongdoing within the organization. The person raising the concern is known as “Whistleblower”.

3.2 It also applies to members of public and others who in dealing with HKYWCA have any concerns in relation to employee misconduct, suspect breach of any regulations, standards, unethical conduct or fraud and corruption that they report this concern. 

 

4. General Policy and Scope

4.1 This policy applies to all employees (regular and part-time), members of public and other stakeholders and is intended to assist them to disclose information relevant to suspected malpractice or irregularity through a confidential reporting channel. 

4.2 Whistleblowing matters may include but not limited to:

  • A failure to comply with any legal or regulatory requirements
  • Criminal offences, breach of civil law and miscarriage of justice (e.g. theft, fraud, corruption, false claims)
  • Malpractice, impropriety or fraud relating to internal controls, accounting and financial matters
  • Improper or other unethical conduct
  • Racial discrimination or sexual harassment
  • Health and safety of any individual being put at risk
  • Showing undue favour over a contractual matter or to a job applicant
  • Deliberate concealment relating to any of the above

4.3 If the nature of the matter is deemed not within the scope of this whistleblowing policy, the case will be dealt with under the complaint policy or as appropriate.

4.4 This policy is not designed to further any personal disputes, question financial or business decisions taken by HKYWCA, complaints related to services delivery, or matters which are covered under the HKYWCA’s complaint policy, unless they involve malpractice or irregularity as listed above.  Otherwise, they will be dealt with under the complaint policy by relevant parties (e.g. Human Resources, or Service Units).

4.5 HKYWCA will handle the reports with care and will treat the Whistleblowers’ concerns fairly and properly.

 

5. Confidentiality and Protection

5.1 All concerns will be treated confidentially. The identity of the Whistleblower will not be revealed without his or her consent. However, they may need to come forward as a witness or provide a statement as part of the evidence. In order not to jeopardize the investigation, the Whistleblower is required to keep confidential the fact that he or she has reported.

5.2 There may be circumstances in which HKYWCA may be required or legally obliged to reveal the Whistleblower’s identity, for example, an investigation leads to legal proceeding being initiated. If this is the case, HKYWCA will endeavor to inform the Whistleblower that his or her identity is likely to be disclosed. 

5.3 In some circumstances, HKYWCA may have to refer the concerns to relevant authorities without prior notice or consultation with the Whistleblower.

5.4 HKYWCA will not tolerate any harassment or victimization including informal pressures and will take appropriate action to protect the individuals when they raise a concern in good faith.

 

6. Anonymous Allegation

6.1    Anonymous allegation would normally not be considered.  Therefore, it is strongly recommended that the allegation should not be made anonymously.

 

7. Untrue Report

7.1 Whistleblower will not be at risk of suffering any form of reprisals as a result proven that he or she is acting in good faith and reasonable manner.

7.2 On the other hand, if a Whistleblower makes an untrue allegation maliciously, with an ulterior motive, he or she may face disciplinary action. HKYWCA also reserves the right to take appropriate actions against any relevant person, including the Whistleblower, to recover any loss or damage caused by the untrue allegation.

 

8. Reporting Channels and Format

8.1 All Whistleblowers may report their concerns to the Chairman of the Audit Committee, the Chief Executive or the Head of Internal Audit Department in writing and provide supporting documentation where possible. All reports should be sent directly to the following e-mail address which is only accessible by the designated persons mentioned above or post to the following address and marked on the envelope “To be opened by addressee only”: 

Email: whistleblowing@ywca.org.hk

By Post: 
Chairman of Audit Committee or Chief Executive or Head of Internal Audit Department
Hong Kong Young Women’s Christian Association
No. 1, MacDonnell Road
Central, Hong Kong

8.2 A log of all allegations received will be maintained and reported to the Audit Committee on a regular basis notwithstanding whether the issue is finally being dealt with under the Whistleblowing Policy.

8.3 The progress of investigation into any allegation covered by the Whistleblowing Policy will be periodically reported to the Audit Committee until the matter has been resolved to the satisfaction of the Audit Committee.

 

9. Investigation Procedures

9.1 Upon receipt of information from the whistleblower, the Chief Executive and Head of Internal Audit Department, after consulting with the Chairman of Audit Committee, will first review the allegation received to assess whether the matter has any substance and falls under the purview of this Whistleblowing policy. 

9.2 The format and length of an investigation will vary depending on the nature and particular circumstances of each reported case.  Where appropriate, the matters raised may:

  • be investigated internally by Whistleblowing Team
  • be referred to the Hong Kong Police Force, Independent Commission Against Corruption (“ICAC”) or other regulatory authorities
  • be referred to the appropriate committee of HKYWCA
  • be referred to the external auditor

Internal investigation

9.3 If the matter falls under the purview of this policy, a Whistleblowing Team, which is made up of the Chairman of the Audit Committee, Chief Executive, Head of Internal Audit Department, and two Board members, where applicable, will collectively make the necessary evaluation of the matter and conduct investigation.  Depending upon the circumstances and the expertise required for the investigation, the appointment of Board members will be decided by the Chairman of the Board.

9.4 The Whistleblowing Team has the right to invite any member of management and staff to join the investigation of the allegations, if necessary.

9.5 All allegations will be promptly investigated by the Whistleblowing Team.  Upon completion of the investigation, a report on the investigation results and recommendations on the appropriate corrective action will be prepared, without revealing the identity of the Whistleblower, and submitted to the Board of Directors for a final decision on the action required.

External investigation

9.6 If there is sufficient evidence of the existence of criminal activity or corruption or breach of legal and regulatory requirements, the matter will be referred to relevant regulatory authorities (e.g. the Hong Kong Police Force, ICAC) or external parties (e.g. external auditor).  If this is the case,   the Whistleblowing Team will seek the approval from the Chairman of the Board before referring the matter to relevant external parties. Once the matter is referred to a regulatory authority or an external party for investigation, HKYWCA will hold further action on the matter until the result of the external investigation is available.

9.7 The Whistleblowing Team will communicate with the whistleblower wherever reasonably practicable on the concern received:

  • acknowledging that the concern has been received
  • notifying the whistleblower of the final results of the investigation, where appropriate

 

10. Record Retention and Disposal

10.1 Records and all relevant information relating to all reported malpractices and irregularities under Section 8 of this Policy will be kept for a period of 7 years from the completion date of the investigation (or whatever other period may be specified by any relevant legislation).

10.2 All Information that need not be retained must be physical destructed or disposed of in accordance with associated disposal guidelines.

 

11. Interpretation and approval of the Policy

11.1 The Board of Directors is responsible for the interpretation of this Policy. Any amendments to this policy must be approved by the Board of Directors.

11.2 The Audit Committee has overall responsibility for the review of this policy.  

11.3 The policy is implemented from the date of approval of the Board of Directors.

 

12. Language

12.1 The policy is prepared in both English and Chinese language.  The English version should prevail in case of any discrepancies between the English and Chinese versions.

 

Download Whistleblowing Report Template

Version 1 / Effective Date: 21 July 2016