Skip to main content
  • A
  • A
  • A

會長的話

 

杜淑婉女士

100周年感恩

百年以前,本地華人社會仍受傳統封建思想影響,兩性地位並不平等,四位虔誠的基督徒婦女在禱告中受到聖靈感召,以基督的關愛精神回應當時的社會需要,於1920年成立了香港基督教女青年會,期望藉著提升婦女的能力和社會地位,建立一個兩性平等而互相尊重的社會,讓每人都能發揮所長,實現夢想,貢獻社會。蒙上帝的祝福和引領,以及歷任董事、委員、同工、義工及會員的團結和努力,時至今天,本會已發展為多元化的社會服務機構,為不同社群提供服務。百年以來,當本會面對著各種社會變遷和挑戰時,始終本著基督精神回應社會訴求,實踐本會的使命。我們感謝天父對女青年會的眷佑,讓我們在服務中見證衪的豐盛恩典。未來,我們定必秉承栽培生命的使命,本著愛與關懷,透過提供「以人為本」之服務,為社會謀福祉。深願我們同心仰望上帝,倚靠着衪的靈,發揚基督精神,榮神益人。

承傳機構管治

良好的管治對機構發展起著重要的作用。本會一直積極提升機構管治能力,並致力促進跨代領導。為進一步加強機構管治承傳以迎接未來轉變,董事會於本年度成立管治與傳承工作小組,就董事會組成、聘任和選舉的機制,以及新任董事的培訓和發展等作深入檢視和討論,並提出相關優化建議。我們亦重視領導承傳,栽培年青董事能力,於本年度先後委派年青董事代表本會出席國際性會議,包括基督教女青年會世界協會會議及亞洲區女青會議,就不同議題與各地女青代表交流,培養她們的國際視野,加深其對女青運動的了解和體會。

國際會議上

為婦女發聲

作為國際性婦女組織及世界女青大家庭的成員,本會一直善用女青年會國際平台推動女青運動,致力培育具國際視野的年青女性領袖,薪火相傳,集結力量推動兩性平等和尊重,讓婦女盡展所長,活出生命姿彩。2019年11月,本會派出了由董事、年青女義工及同工組成之八人代表團出席於南非約翰內斯堡舉行的第29屆基督教女青年會世界協會會議,與世界各地女青代表互相交流學習。會議以「年青女性轉化權力結構,推動性別平等」為主題,各國婦女領袖於會議及工作坊分享推動婦女參與及兩性平等的經驗及視野。本會兩位年青女義工亦獲選於Young Women Leadership: Rise Up主題工作坊向各國代表分享參與本會「香港女聲Glocal Y」年青女性領袖培育計劃所經歷之體會和成長,而其中一人更代表全球年青女性領袖分享其生命蛻變的故事。

此外,本會於2019年6月派出四位代表,包括本會董事、年青女義工及同工參與於南韓舉行之亞洲區女青會議,與來自亞洲12個地區的代表就亞洲各女青年會的婦女運動進程、社會服務經驗等進行交流。近年,本會亦善用網絡平台與亞太區及各地年青女性進行網上會議,就國際婦女議題交流和表達意見。期望未來我們能加強結連和凝聚各地女青之力量,締造更多發揮婦女領導及才華的平台和機會。

跨界別攜手

「疫」境同行

2020年,新型冠狀病毒疫情在全球蔓延。疫情在香港爆發初期,防疫物資短缺,各項社交距離措施實施,部份行業受疫情打擊,市民生計受到影響,面對著各種不安和壓力。然而,香港在「疫」境下更見愛心處處,本會合作伙伴、不同企業團體,以至社會各界與女青攜手,毫不猶豫為有需要人士伸出援手,從捐贈口罩、消毒用品和糧油食品等物資,解市民所急,動員義工製作抗疫包送贈予有需要人士,送上關懷慰問,至資助本會推出各項適切應急服務,支援疫情下不同社群的需要,都盡顯愛與關懷。本人在此感謝每位在「疫」境下與女青及香港同行的夥伴,讓我們見證著每個守望相助、無私分享和真誠問候成為疫情下每點明亮溫暖的光。

過去一年,本會服務面對不少挑戰,本人衷心感謝各董事、委員、義工及同工持守信念、群策群力,社會各界給予寶貴的支持和指導,讓我們一同在天父的帶領下,互相配搭效力,為社會大眾提供適切的服務,實踐「生命的栽培」的服務宗旨。未來,本會將繼續承傳使命,服務社群,期盼各位能與女青並肩同行,為社會帶來更多愛與關懷。

Skip to main content
  • A
  • A
  • A

President’s Remark

 

Ms. Helena To

100th Anniversary Thanksgiving

A hundred years ago, the local Chinese society was still under the influence of traditional feudalism, and the status of the two sexes was not equal. Four devout Christian women were called by the Holy Spirit in prayer to respond to the social needs of the time with the spirit of Christ. They had founded the Hong Kong Young Women's Christian Association in 1920, inspired to build a society with gender equality and mutual respect by enhancing women's abilities and social status, so that everyone can utilize their talents, realize their dreams, and contribute to society. With God’s blessing and guidance, as well as the unity and hard work of previous directors, committee members, staff, volunteers and members, the Association has developed into a diversified social service organisation providing a wide range of services to different communities. For a hundred years, when facing various social changes and challenges, the Association has always responded to social demands in the spirit of Christ and fulfilled its mission. We thank Heavenly Father for his blessing to the Hong Kong YWCA, allowing us to witness His abundance of grace in our service. In the future, we shall uphold the mission of enhancing life with love and care, and by providing people-oriented services, we will strive for the well-being of society. I deeply hope that we will look to God with one heart, rely on His spirit, carry forward the spirit of Christ, and honor God and benefit others.

Inheriting Corporate Governance

Good governance plays an important role in organisational development. The Association has been actively improving her governance capabilities and is committed to promoting inter-generational leadership. In order to further strengthen corporate governance and inheritance to meet future changes, during the year Board of Directors established the Board Governance and Succession Taskforce to conduct an in-depth review of the board composition, its appointment and election mechanisms, and the training and development of new directors which led to later discussion and relevant recommendations. We also attach importance to leadership inheritance and cultivate the ability of young directors. This year, young directors were delegated by the Association to attend international conferences, including the YWCA World Council Meeting and Asia YWCA Regional Meeting where they exchanged ideas with representatives of YWCAs from various places on different topics, in return cultivate their international vision, and deepen their understanding of the YWCA Movement.

Voice for Women at International Conferences

As an international women organisation and a member of the world YWCA family, the Association has been making good use of the YWCA’s international platform to promote the YWCA Movement, and is committed to cultivating young female leaders with an international perspective and rallying forces to promote gender equality and respect so that women can give full play to their talents and live their brilliant lives. In November 2019, the Association sent an 8-member delegation composed of directors, young female volunteers and staff to attend the 29th YWCA World Council Meeting in Johannesburg, South Africa, and exchanged ideas and learned with representatives of young women from all over the world. With the theme of "Young Women Transforming Power Structure and Promoting Gender Equality", women leaders from various countries shared their experiences and perspectives on promoting women participation and gender equality in conferences and workshops. At the workshop under the theme of “Young Women Leadership: Rise Up”, two young female volunteers of the Association were also selected to share with representatives from various countries their personal experience and growth after participating in the Hong Kong Women’s Voice "Glocal Y" Project. One of them also shared her life transformation stories on behalf of other young female leaders from other countries.

In addition, the Association sent four representatives in June 2019, including the director, young female volunteers and staff of the Association to participate in the Asia YWCA Regional Meeting held in South Korea. Representatives from 12 Asian regions discussed the progress of the women movement and social service experience of various YWCAs in Asia. In recent years, the Association has also made good use of online platforms to conduct online meetings with young women in the Asia-Pacific region and all over the world to express and exchange opinions on international women issues. I hope that in the future, we can strengthen the connection and unite the strength of various YWCAs from all over the world, and create more platforms and opportunities for showcasing women leadership and talents.

Joining Hands with Different Sectors during the Pandemic

In 2020, the COVID-19 has spread globally, and Hong Kong was no escape. At the beginning of the outbreak, epidemic prevention materials were in shortage and various social distancing measures were implemented. Some industries were hit by the epidemic and the livelihoods of citizens were affected. However, Hong Kong has become more caring amidst the epidemic. Our partners, different corporates, and sectors of society have joined hands with the Association to provide assistance to those in need, including donating masks, disinfection supplies and food to alleviate the urgent needs of the public, mobilizing volunteers to make and distribute anti-epidemic kits to those in need and sponsoring the Association to launch various emergency services to support the needs of different communities. I would like to thank every partner who walked with us and Hong Kong under the epidemic, and let us witness that every help, selfless sharing and sincere care have become every bright and warm light.

In the past year, our service has faced many challenges. I would like to express my sincere gratitude to all directors, committee members, volunteers and staff for their faith, teamwork, and valuable support and guidance from all walks of life. Let us work together under the leadership of Heavenly Father to provide appropriate services to the public, and fulfill the service purpose of "life enhancement". In the future, we will continue to carry on our mission and serve the community. We hope that you can walk side by side with us and bring more love and care to the society.